24 hours

Heartbreak
is watching my daughter sit in front of the door looking through a stack of books while waiting for the neighbor boy, who promised to return, but who never came back to play.

Frustration
is coming home from someplace and venting by polishing off the leftover pizza.

Restraint
is not devouring the queso next.

Love
is having a heart-to-heart discussion with Matt regarding something we both feel deeply and passionately about.

Exhaustion
is getting up at 5:00 to get ready and make a Crock Pot gumbo before the craziness of my day begins.

Disappointment
is noticing that the rice in that gumbo is a little mushy.

Discouragement
is eyeing my daunting things-to-do list.

Irritation
is tripping over the exersaucer, bike, scooter, bouncy seat, swing, and other miscellaneous toys.

Anger
just is.  It’s been bubbling up a lot lately, but I’m not sure I can pinpoint its impetus.

Shame
is dangling off the end of my rope, letting go, and then throwing a temper tantrum worthy of a 3-year-old.

Forgiveness
is my daughter’s arms around me.

Fear
is feeling my heart flop inside my chest like a grounded fish.

Happiness
is snuggling on the bed with Amélie and Jack, listening to them giggle.

Invigorating
is taking a 1 1/2 hour walk around the lake with a friend on a beautiful morning.

Sore
are my muscles.

Excitement
is the anticipation of a wonderful friend’s visit next week.

Worried
am I about another friend.

Peace
is rocking my baby son in my arms.

Bliss
is bending down to sniff and kiss the top of his head.

Satisfaction
is discovering that my gumbo didn’t turn out so bad after all.

“Hope
springs eternal once in awhile” (from Mark Heard’s “Another Day in Limbo”)

but oh so

Tired
am I.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by chill24 on October 1, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    alone
    you are not!

    Reply

  2. Again. You should write that book.

    I noticed “Fear,” and remembered your words from last night. I have the same problem, probably not as frequent as yours, but I know what that flop feels like. I know enough about it that I choose to just ignore mine, but I’ve put many people on medication for it just like you. Some of them have it 4,000 – 6,000 times in 24 hours. Not to minimize yours because I know it can be scary any time one’s heart gets talked about. But if I can reassure you, be reassured.

    Great list.

    Reply

  3. I loved this post. I love the window into your heart. I can identify with so many of them.

    Reply

  4. Posted by matt on October 2, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Very nice.
    hard.
    soothing.
    stressful.
    sad.
    exciting.
    tiring.
    true.

    Reply

  5. Posted by kb7496 on October 2, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    and how was today’s 24 hours?

    Reply

  6. ooo. if i tried your adverbs with the day i had yesterday….

    i like how real yours is. thanks for sharing.

    if i put mine on my blog i’d lose a lot of friends. (the problem remains troubling but not mine to disclose.) maybe i’ll just email it to you if i can get it done.

    Reply

  7. I love this. You do such a good job of expressing things. And here I thought I was the only one who still occasionally threw temper tantrums worthy of a 3 year old. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

