A Lazy Saturday

We were enjoying a lazy Saturday morning, or, at least, as lazy as you can be with a 4-year-old and an almost-6-month-old.  The 4-year-old was busily and happily occupying herself, by herself (a small miracle), and the 6-month-old was taking a nap.  I was in the kitchen pouring myself a cup of freshly brewed coffee so that I could take it back into the living room with me while I surfed the Internet, a luxury I haven’t allowed myself much lately.  Suddenly, Matt bolted into the kitchen and announced, “Mark’s here.” 

Mark???  As in, Matt’s boss Mark?  What the heck was he doing here?  It was 9:30 on a Saturday morning, and although I had been up since 6:30, I was still in my pajamas and sporting mucky hair and gritty teeth.  Amélie was in the bathroom pooping (Oh yeah.  That’s why she was happily occupying herself.  She plops herself on the toilet and stays there forever).  As I said before, Jack was napping.  Matt was in his underwear.  Yes, his underwear. 

I immediately ran to the bathroom with Amélie and slammed the door.  I happened to have my phone with me, so I called my mom.  “Mom!  Mom!”  I hissed.  “Mark is at our house!  I am in my pajamas!  There are newspapers on the floor!  Matt is in his underwear!”  She thought that perhaps Mark was here to fire him.  Lovely thought. 

Thankfully, that’s not why he was here.  The website was down.  Matt’s phone was on vibrate so he didn’t get Mark’s frantic text messages and phone calls.  And if you can’t get in touch with your employee, I guess you just show up at his house! 

And now Matt is working.  In his underwear.

So much for a lazy Saturday.

P.S.  It’s 4 1/2 hours later.  Matt is still working.  I am getting angry.  Grrrrr…..

P.P.S. Matt is no longer wearing his underwear (well, he’s wearing underwear, but he has pants on top of them), but he just realized that his shirt is on inside out.

P.P.P.S. This is completely unrelated, but my way cool pastor, Paul Hill, was quoted in an article in the New York Times on Sunday.  Check it out.  I’d recommend reading the whole article, but he’s quoted on p. 8 if you don’t want to read the whole thing.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by chill24 on November 4, 2007 at 8:19 am

    i didn’t start laughing ’til the amelie pooping part! i’m sorry your day was intruded upon – what a drag…let’s you know how important matt is though.
    hopefully you can enjoy a lazy sunday!

    p.s. i like the “way cool pastor” part!

    Reply

  2. chill24…I forgot to mention that said “way cool pastor” has a way, way cool wife. 🙂

    Reply

  3. i was hoping to find the article somehow. thanks for posting it!

    Reply

  4. Posted by karmenl on November 4, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    I have one that gets lost in the bathroom too.
    Funny story!

    Reply

  5. I guess the up side is Matt has job security – his boss obviously can’t function without him. But that really sucks that you missed your lazy Saturday together! I know how that feels from Heath’s prior job where he was indispensable in exactly the same way (i.e. keeping the servers/websites from being down). I hope you get lots of pleasant weeknight hours to make up for it this week!

    Reply

  6. Posted by chill24 on November 8, 2007 at 11:32 am

    thanks! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

