Crunchy Update

I am trying to transition over to natural/non-toxic cleaning products.  I think I was a teensy weensy bit too excited about the 2 gallons of vinegar and the 12-lb bag of baking soda I bought over the weekend…. 
Yesterday morning I decided to make my own all-purpose cleaner: 1/2 cup vinegar, 1/4 cup baking soda, 1/2 gallon of water.  No one told me that mixing vinegar and baking soda together caused a bubbly mess of volcanic proportions (does everyone know that but me?  remind me of this when Amélie needs to perform a science experiment.).  I ended up just using a mixture of vinegar and water, which seemed to work great, but the smell elicited some household complaints.  I was busily cleaning the bathroom when Amélie woke up yesterday morning, and soon after she walked into the bathroom, she stalked right back out with her cute little nose all wrinkled up and pronounced, as only a 4-year-old can, “EWWWWWW!”  She wasn’t very happy with the vinegary smell, and she absolutely, positively refused to use that bathroom.  She trekked all the way upstairs instead.  Fine.  Then today, while she was at preschool, I mopped the kitchen and bathroom floors with vinegar water.  That didn’t go over so well either.  My house is clean, but it does rather smell like it’s being pickled.  Does anyone know of a more pleasant scented cleaning product that I could make?  And, does anyone know how to mix vinegar and baking soda without it exploding everywhere? 

I took the plunge and ordered cloth wipes.  When I ordered my Fuzzi Bunz the company sent me a wipes solution recipe that I’m going to try.  It doesn’t include vinegar, thankfully.  I’m a little bit concerned about the whole cloth wipe thing and poop.  I know I can just toss them in with the cloth diapers, but still….  To quote Amélie, “EWWWWWWW!” 

You know those Laura Numeroff books, If You Give A Moose A Muffin, If You Give A Pig A Pancake, etc.?  Well, here’s a rather poorly written knock off I just wrote called If You Give A Crunchy Mama 30 Minutes of Free Time in Front of the Internet.  Now all I need is an illustrator.

If you give a crunchy mama 30 minutes of free time in front of the Internet, she’ll probably spend some time looking up diaper rash creams that won’t ruin her Fuzzi Bunz and that won’t make those diapers smell like fish (did you know that Desitin is made with cod liver oil, and that when you wash diapers after slathering said diaper rash cream on your baby boy’s bum that your diapers will smell…fishy?). 

As she hops from site to site looking for fish-oil-free diaper rash cream, she will get distracted at an on-line drug store that also sells the Diva Cup, a product she’s been meaning to buy to meet her ecologically-minded menstruating needs (um, perhaps I won’t want an illustrator after all).

While comparing Diva Cup prices, she will remember that one of her favorite blogs, the Crunchy Chicken, issued a Diva Cup challenge a few months ago.  She hasn’t looked at the Crunchy Chicken in awhile, so she will spend several more minutes browsing the new posts. 

As she is drifting deeper and deeper into the Crunchy Chicken’s archives, she will read about ecological cleaning products, and she will remember that she had pledged to try to go green with her own cleaning products, so she will start looking up cleaning solution recipes. 

As she becomes more and more inspired to make cleaning products, she will decide that perhaps she could make her own diaper rash cream, so, she starts to look up diaper rash cream recipes. 

She then decides that she’s crazy, so she gives up on that idea, but she becomes filled with despair that she has most certainly ruined her diapers with Desitin (even though, in fact, she really hasn’t), and she decides that she might need to order new cloth diapers.

And chances are, if she looks for more cloth diapers to order, she’s going to need some cloth-diaper-safe diaper rash cream to go with them.

The end.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Funny, funny, funny! I did know about the vinegar and baking soda b/c I use in a yummy cake recipe. And I still love, love, love my Diva cup.
    By the way, I finally started recycling again. I’ve got 6 tubs on a shelf in garage for newspaper, glass, tin, aluminum, plastics, and cardboard. There’s a semi-trailer parked in town that I can drop it all off at when it’s full.

    Reply

  2. I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    By the way, try cutting your vinegar with a goodly 🙂 amount of lemon juice. It will help the cutting power and help the smell (although, when I was washing the floor with this solution and Ethan had a playmate over, the playmate STILL ended up going home early because our house ‘stank.’ oh dear.). It’s a LITTLE better, anyway.Good luck going green. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love your story! 🙂 I totally identify! At the moment, I don’t have any ideas for good-smelling cleaning solution, but let me consult the stack of library books I brought home from the library the other day on this very subject. Just last night, I was trying to find a recipe for making my own lip balm! Shouldn’t be too hard. . .

    Reply

  4. Posted by Faith on November 9, 2007 at 11:15 am

    I emailed you with some recipes. Essential oils make a world of difference, smell-wise!

    Reply

  5. Posted by karmenl on November 9, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    What is a Diva Cup?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

