Pecan Pie Wars/Jesus & the Kingdom/Pecan Pie Update

Yesterday afternoon I promised my friend Rachel an upcoming post on domestic feminism.  At the time, I was discussing with her my grandiose plans to make a pecan pie from scratch.  I was going to don my pretty oilcloth apron; mix my own Crisco, flour, and water; dust my kitchen table with flour; and roll out a beautiful, perfect crust.  Then, I was going to fill that perfectly crimped pie crust with a rich, delectable pecan pie filling.  Before embarking on this task I launched into an impassioned speech to Matt about the lost art of pie-making.  

And then I got into a knock-down, drag-out fight with my rolling pin and clumpy, flaky pie dough.  

While it is true that last night I had to physically stab through the pie to cut it, it actually turned out, well, delicious, even if I do say so myself.  I do need to spend some time revising my ideals of domestic feminism, however.

In the meantime, I wanted to share with you all a video we watched in church last night.  Have any of you ever read Lily’s Purple Plastic Purse?  There’s this line repeated over and over in the book that reads, “Wow.  That’s just about all she could say.  Wow.”  Rachel and I repeat this phrase to each other whenever we encounter some awe-inspiring event.  Well, last night, had there been a cartoon bubble over my head while I was watching this video, it would have said, “Wow.  That’s just about all she could say.  Wow.”  I really encourage you to check it out.

Pecan Pie Update
Today, I used my grandma’s recipe for pie crust.  Why didn’t I use that recipe yesterday???  This was so much easier!!!  Below are pictures of my pie crust and then a picture of the pie as it was headed to the oven.  It’s not perfect, but then, neither am I!  Now, if I can just remember to pull the pie out of the oven in 30 minutes….

jillpecanpie2.jpg

pecanpie.jpg

7 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, that video was really good. I have a long way to go before I’m acting like a citizen of God’s kingdom in some aspects of my life. It’s a pretty radical message, but I’m glad we’re getting a chance to see it from Jesus’ perspective. Might as well start getting transformed now; it might take a while.

    Reply

  2. And even though your pecan pie didn’t turn out perfectly, how many people do you know who would actually make a pie totally from scratch these days? Let’s revive that lost art (and get back into our exercise routines)!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Beautiful!! Will you make a pie for me sometime?

    Reply

  4. Posted by karmenl on November 18, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    I’ve had some pie since I’ve gotten home….it was yummy! The crust is so pretty (and good). Do you know that the crust often has the most calories, although that may not be true for a pecan pie.

    I think your pie making venture was a success after all.

    Reply

  5. Posted by matt on November 19, 2007 at 8:07 am

    beautiful. you and the pie. someday i hope to give you the pecans from our own trees. you are my beautiful feminist domestic partner.

    Reply

  6. Posted by chill24 on November 24, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    yummm…i don’t even like pecan pie but that one looks so good i think i’d try it.

    Reply

  7. Posted by ola clingan on December 30, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Hey I finally got to sit down and see all this. The pie WAS DELICIOUS. I apologize for hiding the left over so you couldn’t take it home with you. And I loved the song about Jesus birth. Thank you for spending time with us. We love all of you. Nana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

