Just so you know…

I am not on a real blogging hiatus.  I just keep getting interrupted in my blogging by stuff like…

kids who are tired
kids who are hungry
kids who are cranky
kids who want to play

floors that need cleaning
toilets that need scrubbing
laundry that needs washing
food that needs cooking

etc
etc
etc

Right now, for example, I need to be cleaning out Molly’s ears, playing with the little boy at my feet, reading to the little girl climbing all over the couch, calling my credit card company since somehow I lost my card, emailing friends to whom I am sorely overdue on emails, pulling venison out of the freezer to thaw for tomorrow’s soup, making cleaning products, replacing all the stuff from the bathroom and kitchen which are all over the dining room since I just mopped the floors, decorating the bare tree in my living room…

etc
etc
etc

In the meantime, here’s something you might enjoy listening to.  A couple of weeks ago on NPR I listened to an interview with Jon Cohen, who recently produced the new album, Spirit of the Glen, with the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards.  As they played “Amazing Grace,” I stood in the middle of my kitchen and just cried.  This album isn’t coming out in the US until February (although somehow I need to find out how to get it sooner so I can give it to my dad for his birthday), but I found a 1972 version on YouTube.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like you’re in my house today . . . I did most of those things yesterday and today. Hang in there it will get better, well maybe not better but different! I thought things would be easier this year with Jesse being a year older, but things are much crazier. I spend a lot more time promoting peace between brothers than I ever realized was possible.
    Am I on that email list? 🙂 I was thinking last night that I should shoot you an email . . . I’ve lost track who turn it is and I wanted to catch up a bit more personally than bloggin allows. So maybe tonight after the kids are in bed . . .

    Reply

  2. at least your tree is down from the attic. 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by matt on November 29, 2007 at 8:23 am

    last night i felt the same. i’m not sure what is going on…but i’m just tired. i worry that we are creating our own chaos sometimes. sometimes i just want to take everything away except the beds and some soap and try to exist….just to see if life is easier without trying to maintain everything we bring into it. i guess that’s not a solution, but i’m feeling your struggle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

