Look out P&G….

My mom is convinced that I am threatening my dad’s job security (he works for Proctor and Gamble), because I keep calling her saying, “Mom!  I just made this great all-purpose cleaner/baby wipe solution/bathtub cleaner/Febreeze/floor cleaner/furniture polish!”  I’ve become quite the homemade cleaning product nut.  So far my favorite products are the all-purpose cleaner and the furniture polish.  The all-purpose cleaner smells so absolutely wonderful that I am always looking for items that might need to be squirted.  I used some of Dr. Bronner’s Lavender Organic Magic Soap (of which I am now a huge, huge fan) to make this cleaner, plus I added some drops of lavender essential oil.  Who knew that cleaning could be so relaxing? 

So far a few of my projects have bombed:  The concoction I made to wash dishes in the dishwasher left them clean but gritty, even when I added vinegar to the last rinse.  I still haven’t found a glass cleaner that I like that’s non-toxic.  For several years we have made our own glass cleaner, and it works really well, but it has ammonia in it, and since Amélie loves to help me clean windows, I really would like to find something for her to inhale rather than lung-damaging ammonia!  It seems like something else didn’t work, but I can’t think of it at the moment.

My future projects include laundry soap, air freshener, and toilet bowl cleaner. 

I really hate to admit how much fun I’m having.

My friend Faith, who lives in Pennsylvania, attended a homemade cleaning product party, where her friend provided all of the ingredients and supplies and just charged for the cost of the materials.  Would any of you who live around me be interested in something like this?  I think it would be fun.  We could become non-toxic chemists!  😉 

BTW, my mom wants me to make her some cleaning stuff when she comes here after Christmas.  Just don’t tell my dad.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by karmenl on December 15, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    Sure…why not?!

    Reply

  2. Posted by chill24 on December 15, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    i’m in! you did say party…right?

    Reply

  3. That sounds right up my alley! Can I come, too?

    Reply

  4. Karmen and Chill…of course it’s going to be a party! We’ll plan it for sometime after the holidays.
    manhattandoula–oh I’d love it if you’d come. i sure wish you could swing the trip from manhattan!!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by actionvacuumoffense on December 18, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    i want to come, too. the lavender sounds awesome. i’m always up for new scent experiences.

    have you ever smelled verbena? i’ve kept a bar of Verbena L’occitane soap (from our once in a lifetime stay at the Ritz in Chi-town) in my delicates drawer for three years now.

    if there’s anyone a bit psycho about scents, it’s me. whenever i splurge and take out that soap, I’m immediatly propelled to a relaxing weekend, the marble shower on the 23rd floor and a view of Navy Pier.

    (So it’s not just the soap…I love Chicago, too.)

    Reply

  6. Posted by matt on December 20, 2007 at 7:19 am

    i can attest to these fine cleaning products. I love them! every since she’s been on this kick it’s been fun. and it is true, when she’s been cleaning i walk into the room and feel instantly relaxed. and it makes me want to clean more as well. I need to get her to label the bottles so I know what is what.

    Reply

  7. Posted by kimfromkansas on December 22, 2007 at 9:41 am

    Would be interested, also. I’m sure your cleaning products are a lot cheaper than the Shaklee Basic H2 that I’m ordering online (so that no one who sells Shaklee hounds me). Like to wash my fruit with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

