Just Random…

I know it’s been over a week since I’ve written!  With Christmas and New Year’s and being out of town and then adjusting to being back in town I’m only just now sitting down to write.  And I shouldn’t be writing.  I should be cleaning my bathroom and putting away Christmas decorations and completing the approximately 10,000 items on my to-do list.  Perhaps Jack will take a long nap this morning and I will get to those things.
Probably not.

In the meantime, here’s what’s new with me:

~~~~~
This morning I called Matt, and as soon as he said “hello,” I informed him through gritted teeth that I was going to lose my temper in approximately 30 seconds.
Well, good morning to you, too.
(He could have said this.  Thankfully, he did not.)
Amélie didn’t want to get out of bed.  Her legs were asleep, she said.  When she finally dragged herself (literally) downstairs, she sat on the rocking chair and wailed.  I don’t want to get up!  I don’t want to go to preschool!  I’m too cold to eat!  I’m too tired to eat!  I want to stay home!  whiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine. 
Repeat about a hundred times.
Thankfully, I did not lose my temper.  But I came awfully close.  I understand her pain.  I didn’t want to get out of bed this morning either.  When my alarm went off at 5:30 I promptly reset it for 6:00, and even then it was oh-so-painful for me to venture out from under my warm blankets into the chilliness of my home.  It was rather excruciating, actually. 

~~~~~
Sweet Jack wasn’t exactly a boost to my spirits this morning, either.  He is, as many have noted, the happiest baby ever.  There are two exceptions to this rule: 1. when he isn’t be held or played with or otherwise adored and 2. when he eats.  He’s happy as a lark when he nurses, but the boy is an angry eater.  He loves to eat, but he’s mad about it.  This morning, for example, this was my routine:
Jack:
2 bites of incredibly delicious whole milk yogurt that I wished I was eating.
2 bites of apricots
Me:
1 bite of bagel while Jack grunted and hollered angrily that I was not feeding him.
Jack:
2 bites of incredibly delicious whole milk yogurt that I wished I was eating.
2 bites of apricots
Me:
1 bite of egg while Jack grunted and hollered angrily that I was not feeding him.
Jack:
2 bites of incredibly delicious whole milk yogurt that I wished I was eating.
2 bites of apricots
Me:
1 sip of coffee while Jack grunted and hollered angrily that I was not feeding him.
Repeat.

I am aware that this pattern is a bit OCD, but it’s the only way I can make sure I get to eat my breakfast and drink my much-needed coffee.  Otherwise, he eats, I starve and fall asleep b/c I have no fuel streaming into my system and no caffeine coursing through my veins.  It’s a survival tactic, really.

~~~~~
A couple of days ago a news flash appeared on my computer screen informing me that early signs of dementia include forgetfulness and losing things.  I panicked for about 1 second and then remembered that I’m a mother.  Becoming a mother does change your brain in amazing ways (read the book The Mommy Brain: How Motherhood Makes You Smarter if you want proof), but in some ways it makes me crazy, like the fact that I lose things constantly.  A few days ago I couldn’t find my phone.  I looked everywhere.  Yesterday morning Matt found it in his shoe.  Could someone please explain to me why I decided to stick my phone in Matt’s shoe?  

~~~~~
I have thought of many topics to blog about in recent days, but right now all I can think about is my impending dementia and the fact that I need to tackle those 10,000 to-do items before Jack wakes up in approximately 10 minutes. 

Or now.  He’s waking up now.  This cannot be.  It cannot.  Someone please tell me that my baby monitor has been hijacked and that someone else’s baby is waking up from an incredibly short nap rather than my own. 

           

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by karmenl on January 4, 2008 at 7:36 am

    I read this post yesterday and giggled a little to myself. Your phone in Matt’s shoe??!!! Sounds like the work of little hands?! Or a really busy Mommy! :o)

    And I don’t believe for a minute that little A and J could be the least bit unpleasant.

    Reply

  2. Posted by mamajenny on January 4, 2008 at 8:05 am

    I so know that feeling! Wish I was next door so we could give each other breaks at times like that. Our two smiley guys could entertain each other. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by mat on January 6, 2008 at 8:43 am

    you didn’t mention how later that day the dogs escaped…how you had to bundle the kids to look for the one dog, and how when you returned you discovered the other dog had rolled in animal crap…and how you had to bathe the dog in the tub with non-kid-friendly toxic dog soap…..while managing a 4 year old that wanted to help, and a baby that wanted to be held. Not to mention that we didn’t have any gloves so you had to do it with your bare hands…not to mention that the 100 pound dog fought you the entire time, managing to escape twice.

    I’ll keep my complaining to myself for a few days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

