So you want to know what’s playing on my iPod while I workout?

Oh, you don’t?  Oh well.  I want to share anyway.  I’m sort of obsessive about my music at the moment. 

“Alleluia” by Dar Williams.  Because this song is just funny.  I mean, donkey rides in heaven?  “There’s got to be more to dead than surfing all the time.”  I laugh every time I hear this song.  I just try to remember to laugh quietly while I’m at the Y.  (This is a horrible recording.  You probably won’t be able to make out the words.)

“The Christians and the Pagans” by Dar Williams.  Because it really would be nice if, more often, “the Christians and the pagans sat together at the table / Finding faith and common ground the best that they were able / Lighting trees in darkness, learning new ways from the old and / Making sense of history and drawing warmth out of the cold.”  I performed this song one time.  Some of you will probably hate it, but I love it.  This song is, in my opinion, brilliant. 

“Iowa” by Dar Williams.  Because if I had a lighter while I was working out, I would wave it in the air during the chorus.  Plus, I, too, “long to fall just a little bit, to dance out of the lines and stray from the light.”

“On the Air” by Girlyman.  Because I like Girlyman, and because these three can harmonize.  I tried to pick songs that weren’t folky, but I just can’t.  I’m just lucky that I found some perky ones.

“Kittery Tide” by Girlyman.  Because it’s another perky one!  This is just a fun song.  Love it. 

“Closer to Fine” by Indigo Girls.  Because “darkness has a hunger that’s insatiable and lightness has a call that’s hard to hear.”

“Rise from the Ruins” by Pierce Pettis.  Because “we can walk / We can talk. / We ain’t yet pillars of salt / and we will rise from the ruins when we can.” 

“State of Grace” by Pierce Pettis.  Because “I am not ashamed / to make my home / in a state of grace.”  This isn’t really a very good workout song.  I’ll probably replace it soon.  I like it, though.

“I Know Where You Are” by Girlyman.  Because who needs a runner’s high when you have this song.  It’s not really a workout song, but it’s a beta-endorphin rush of beauty.  By the time I get to the end of this song, I just want to raise my hands in rapture and harmonize loudly.  If I have my iPod when you are around me I will stick you in a corner, make you close your eyes, and force you to listen. 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by karmenl on February 4, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Thanks for introducing me to some new music. I look forward to getting to know Dar a little better.

    Reply

  2. Wow! I still love the Indigo Girls. Listening to that reminded me of college…so, so long ago.
    Hey, have we talked about Mark Heard? Are you a fan of his? He wrote the Pierce Pettis song, “Rise From The Ruins”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

