It’s Caucus Day! (and some other stuff)

Today is caucus day.  I’m so excited!  Can you guess whom I’m caucusing for?  Just kidding.  I know you know.  I made up a little caucusing for Obama ditty on Saturday morning in the shower, but based on Matt’s unenthusiastic response when I sang it to him, I think I’ll not put you through the torture.  I know it was bad, but it was kind of fun to make up.  I’m a dork, I know.  I think I’ll start a group called “Dorks for Obama.”  I would be the charter…and only…member.  I can’t help it. 

A correction from my last blog:  The funny line in Dar’s song, “Alleluia,” is “There’s got to be more to dead than surfing all the time” (not “more to heaven”).  I really ruined it.  The real line is way funnier.  I did correct myself this morning, but not before the millions of you who read my blog (OK, so maybe 50 of you) had already read the incorrect version. 

In other news, Jack is crawling now!  He started this new activity on Friday.  His inspiration?  the dish of dog food.  So far that’s what he crawls fastest towards.  As of yet he hasn’t made it to the dog food or water dish, but I know it’s only a matter of time. 

Have you had any days recently that just started…bad?  I had one of those days yesterday.  My alarm went off at 5:30 (which is bad in and of itself), and Jack woke up approximately one second later.  How was I supposed to get ready?  Frustrating.  At 7:15 I was in the bathroom putting on makeup while Jack was playing on the floor beside me.  Ed came in through the dog door and started acting rather funny.  This usually means that he has either gotten wet (he hates to get wet!) or that he has stepped in something.  Turns out, he had stepped in something.  Turns out, that something was poop.  As I was frantically (and grumpily) cleaning out from under Ed’s monstrously long toe nails and cleaning poop up off the floor (which, please remember, Jack is now crawling on and then sitting up and stuffing his fingers in his mouth), I heard the sound of pouring liquid.  There was Jack, who had crawled over to my hastily abandoned coffee cup and was pouring the hot liquid on the floor.  Thankfully he didn’t burn himself.  As I was mopping up the coffee mess, he crawled away, and what should be creeping up the back of his clothes?  Poop.  He had pooped up his back, so as soon as I had the poop and coffee cleaned up off the floor, I had to clean all the poop off of him.  And this was all before 7:30!  I so wanted to climb back in bed and throw the covers over my head. 

As I’ve been typing this Jack has been reorganizing my pantry.  I guess I should go undo the damage. 

How much longer until nap time?

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with a Super Tuesday Song I just heard.  Check it out!
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=18698214

2 responses to this post.

  1. That song is absolutely hysterical!

    What a crappy morning! (pun intended)

    5:30, I’m impressed . . .

    I’m glad you could Caucus! As I’m sure you know, the GOP caucus isn’t until Saturday, but I’m not participating. What to know why? The closest caucus location to me is in Lawerence!!!! That’s an hour. So I’m supposed to drive an hour, caucus, drive another hour on my Saturday????? My Saturday that is already packed with a seminar that I’m going to on parenting the heart of your child? I emailed the GOP party and they informed me that the Miami county chair decided not to hold a caucus . .. so much for democracy in action. I’ve been trying to decide if I should call the chair in Miami county and voice my complaint, but he’ll probably tell me I could volunteer to work it next time, yeah right, with my three little boys right there with me . . .

    Reply

  2. Thank you for the play-by-play of your morning – I needed to hear it today! I was feeling sorry for myself and thinking I was having “one of those” mornings, but I feel better after reading your description of your much-worse-than-mine morning.

    P.S…. Samuel is pulling up on everything! Maybe he will skip traditional crawling? He’s still army crawling everywhere.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

