Obama drama…take two

What is up with this?  Every time I try to do something for Obama something dramatic happens to thwart my plans.  Tonight was no different. 

Matt stayed home with the kids b/c Amélie says she’s sick (who knows…but I’m glad she didn’t go).  I drove to El Dorado, where the civic center was packed with people (a majority of them Obama fans).  It was kind of fun…for awhile.  There was a lot of good-natured heckling between the Hillary fans and the Obama fans.  The speaker guy got up and told us what we were to expect during the evening, which included 30 minutes to get ourselves in the right camp and convince any undecided people or Edwards people (there were a few of them there!  Apparently they don’t watch the news….) to pick a camp.  Then, we were going to count off.  There was one little glitch, however. 
The electricity went out. 
It didn’t come back on. 
It was pitch black.  It was insane!  Then someone came in our room and told us we needed to start counting off b/c the fire marshals were there and were about to kick us all out.  So, people started counting off.  In the dark.  I was #84, I think.  Is that legal???  I mean, I could have counted off several times if I had wanted to.  I didn’t want to. I wanted to get out of there as soon as possible and drive home.  I drove home through blowing snow and sleet.  I could barely see in front of me.  It was insane.  Absolutely insane!  I’m so glad to be home!!! 
Now I’m obsessively watching CNN and drinking a beer.  I think I’m going to need more than one.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by matt on February 6, 2008 at 8:06 am

    #84 you make me proud.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

