friends….

Update:  It’s almost 2:00 in the morning, and I just finished nursing Jack and obsessing about all the friends that I didn’t mention in my post.  I mean, I had this incredibly meaningful e-mail exchange with my favorite cousin in the whole wide world, Julie, this past week.  And then there was the e-mail from Kelly with pregnancy updates (oh, and when you read this, Kelly, I will actually send a personal response soon, but I’ll be able to get together with you sometime from the 17th to the 27th.   I can’t wait to see you!).  And there are other friends, too, that I could sit here and type about, but it’s 2:00 AM, and I really need to stop obsessing and go back to sleep. 

This past week my heart has been full of my friends

Thursday was my soulmate Megan’s birthday. 

I love her dearly.  As I wrote on a previous post,
She knows my heart.
She quenches my soul’s thirst.
She is Home. 

On Thursday Rachel came to visit me.  What joy to have her visit!  We are like two puzzle pieces that fit so comfortably together.  We both love to talk about birth, books, baking/cooking, and all things green.  She and her two kids, Ellie and Jonathan, stayed with us until Saturday, and we all had such a good time.  Unfortunately, we managed to spend 3 days together without taking ONE picture. 

On Thursday Rachel and I also met a mutual friend, Michele, for lunch.  (Thursday was a big day!)  Michele is one of the most refreshing and real people I know.  I absolutely love to spend time with her. 

Last week was happy…and this week is sad.  This week, Ashley and Carley move back to Louisiana. 

I have grown to love both Ashley and Carley in the past few months.  Amélie more than adores Carley.

The preschool queue is going to be awfully lonely for both Amélie and me after they leave.  It’s been a long time since I connected with someone so quickly and comfortably.  We have such fun when we’re together, and I just don’t even want to think about life here without them.  Amélie informed me tonight that she wants her daddy to get a job in Louisiana.  I’m pretty sure my family would disown me if we moved that far away, but I swear it’s tempting. 

This morning I heard the song “Brave” by Nichole Nordeman, and I couldn’t help but think of my friends and how they inspire and encourage and challenge me.  (I tried to find a more interesting video of the song….)

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by frenchgirl on April 8, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    *smile*

    That pic of Am and Carly is so precious! Am looks so happy!

    Reply

  2. Posted by frenchgirl on April 8, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    and I love how her hand is over Carley’s hand.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jenny on April 8, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    What a sweet picture of Amelie and her friend. She’s learning early from her mama how to give and receive true friendship – what a blessing.

    Reply

  4. Posted by madi on April 8, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Very nice post, your such a sweethearted woman. It’s important to remember friends too I think and I think about my friends all the time. Not always the things they say or do, but just being around them and how connecting with someone can be so necessary and as you said, inspiring. Those wonderful people never seem to leave my heart even if they leave my surroundings. It keeps me smiling knowing that they are in the world.

    Reply

  5. Posted by frenchgirl on April 9, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    wow, that pic of amelie and carley made me sad about the move.

    Reply

  6. Posted by frenchgirl on April 9, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    (sorry, that’s teason on frenchgirl’s computer.)

    Reply

  7. Posted by karmenl on April 10, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    I heard someone say one time that those ‘special’ friends are God’s way of making up for the less than ideal relationships that we experienced in our family of origin…a sort of new kind of rag tag family. I kind of like that thought.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

