dream

I rarely remember my dreams.  When I do, they usually aren’t all that meaningful or inspiring or important (I have a friend who just dreamed that Obama was her Social Studies teacher in high school.  I would have liked that dream!).  There is a dream that I had six summers ago, though, that I will never forget.  The content of that dream always comes up this time of year, and this year, even more than usual for some reason, I have been ruminating on the dream.  I had this dream during a tumultuous summer.  The summer before had been particularly traumatic, and the year sandwiched in between those two summers was harrowing.  I had visited hell, it seemed to me, and I was still in the gritty, painful process of clawing my way back.  Then one night, I dreamed this dream:

I was watching a student play the piano.  The shiny grand piano upon which she was playing was surrounded by her professors.  As they stood in intimidating fashion around her as she played, they took notes on her performance, and their stern facial expressions betrayed the glaring scrutiny under which her performance was being evaluated.  It was a beautiful piece, and the girl played with emotion and expression, hitting every note perfectly.  At one point, however, the notes became dissonant.  She was not playing the notes incorrectly; she had just come to a particularly cacophonous section of the piece.  At that point her professors stopped her and told her that the notes she was playing were incorrect.  She pleaded with them that no, she was not playing the notes incorrectly.  She had just come to a dissonant point but that the dissonance would soon resolve into something beautiful.  They made her start over.  She again played the piece perfectly and beautifully, but for a second time they stopped her when the notes became jarring.  Again, she begged them to let her finish, because the dissonance would soon resolve into something beautiful.  The same thing happened again, and again, and yet again.  And each time she pleaded with them to let her finish, because the dissonance would soon resolve into something beautiful.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for sharing this dream with us. I think the dream is very important.

    Reply

  2. Posted by frenchgirl on June 18, 2008 at 7:22 am

    i definitely need that reminder. thanks jill, and sorry you’re not feeling good!

    Reply

  3. Wow… that’s very good. Very cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

