What a day!! (and a foody post)

(I started this post yesterday, but I didn’t want to go through and change the time in everything, so I’m posting it “as is” today…)

What a day!

Actually, the tone for the day was set in the middle of the night when little Jack didn’t sleep well.  Matt tried. and tried. and tried. and tried to get him back to sleep.  After forever (literally–from 1:20 a.m. – 4:00 a.m.) I popped him on to nurse, and he was out like a light.  Argh.  You know, with Amélie we had a pacifier problem.  She was addicted to that crazy thing, and while the paci habit was hard to break, at least we could make the offending items disappear.  This nursing addiction of Jack’s could prove to be a problem, for some pretty obvious reasons.  I don’t know what we’re going to do.  [Friday update:  last night (Thursday night) Matt held him for an hour, then I held him for an hour, then I gave up and nursed and he was asleep in 5 minutes.]

Anyway, that was last night.  This morning Jack woke up late since he had slept poorly, which made his morning nap late, which made me have to wake him up to get to my cardiologist’s appointment on time.  My appointment was supposed to be at 11:45, and I was leaving the doctor’s office as a very, very frazzled mother with two very, very tired children in tow at 3:05.  Just close your eyes and imagine for a moment what it was like to be confined to to a non-child-friendly waiting room for that length of time, and you probably understand why I was practically certifiably insane when I left.  I did actually leave for an hour to get lunch, but still……..  When I got home I was so tired I couldn’t think straight.  I was trying to talk to my mom about a recipe for butterscotch pie and called it a coupon instead; Amélie asked for whole wheat zucchini bread for a snack so I promptly made her a big bowl of popcorn instead; and I had a conversation with Michele that I can only hope was spoken in at least halfway understandable English.

And now it’s Friday, and I don’t know that I’ve quite recovered from my doctor’s office trauma.  I’ve had so much I’ve been wanting to blog about lately, namely about food.  I just finished the book In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan, and I have read that book feeling encouraged, discouraged, inspired, angered, hopeless, hopeful, and challenged (I think that about covers it!).  I’ve been trying to feed my family less processed food, but then days like yesterday happen and I use food as a drug: at my hour lunch break from the doctor’s office madness yesterday I ate a Spangles hamburger, french fries, and onion rings.  Oh, and part of a shake.  Health food at its finest.  Ugh.  I’m trying, though.  Amélie and I made whole wheat zucchini bread this week to snack on.  I’ve been eating more vegetables.  And I made a homemade butterscotch pie from scratch today.  OK, that’s not so healthy.  At least I didn’t buy a pre-made crust and a box of butterscotch pudding!  Surely those 6 egg yolks are healthier than all the extra additives and preservatives…right?  🙂  Actually, I don’t care too much.  It looks awfully good, and I plan on enjoying every bite.

Which brings me to another point (I was really going to end this blog entry after my doctor’s entry paragraph, and I was going to just write a preview to my food post, but I guess I’m food posting anyway!).  This morning on the radio I heard a commercial for a pill you could buy that would suppress your appetite.  I wish I could remember exactly what was said, but the selling point of the commercial was that it would make you not want to eat, which would make you lose weight.  And I thought, How sad!!! Eating is a pleasure.  It’s supposed to be pleasurable.  When we’re weighing our food and obsessing about fat grams and protein grams and carbohydrate grams we’re not enjoying what we’re eating!  I want to eat more healthfully, and the thing is, I’m enjoying the tastes and textures of healthy foods, but I also want to sit down with my family and a steaming cup of coffee and savor every bite of a piece of that homemade butterscotch pie.  And that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Todd on June 28, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Would you mind sharing the recipe? It sounds great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

