Recipes

Todd asked for my butterscotch pie recipe, so I’m sharing that recipe below, and while I’m at it I also thought I’d share a couple of lunch recipes I’ve used recently. They are very yummy! I’m always looking for interesting ways to spice up lunch (b/c otherwise I get in a HUGE rut), so if you’d like to share any recipes, feel free!

My Grandma’s Pie Crust Recipe

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup Crisco
1/4 tsp salt
4 Tbsp water

In a mixing bowl stir together flour and salt. Cut in shortening until pieces are the size of small peas.
Sprinkle 1 Tbsp of the water over part of the mixture; gently toss with a fork. Push to side of bowl. Repeat until all is moistened. Form dough into a ball.
On a lightly floured surface, flatten dough with hands. Roll dough from center to edges forming a circle about 12″ in diameter. Wrap pastry around rolling pin. Unroll onto a 9″ pie plate. Ease pastry onto pie plate, being careful not to stretch pastry.
Trim to 1/2″ beyond edge of pie plate; fold under extra pastry. Make a fluted edge.
Prick bottom and sides of pastry generously with the tines of a fork. Prick where bottom and sides meet all around pie shell. Bake in a 450 degree oven for 10 to 12 minutes or till golden. Cool on a wire rack.

Butterscotch Pie
(The sweet and sappy thing is that I made this pie for Matt when we were dating b/c I knew he loved butterscotch.  The sad thing is that I don’t think I made it again until last week!)

1 1/4 cup light brown sugar
4 1/2 T cornstarch
3 cups milk (I used a can of evaporated milk and a can of water, because all I had at home was skim milk and I was afraid it would make the pie too runny. I thought the evaporated milk made the pie very creamy.)
5 egg yolks, slightly beaten
5 T butter
2 t vanilla
1 9″ baked pie shell–cooled.
Whipped cream for topping

In a heavy saucepan, combine brown sugar and cornstarch. Gradually stir in milk. Cook over med. heat till bubbly, then cook, stirring constantly, for 2 minutes. Remove from heat. Stir about a cup of the hot mixture into egg yolks and then immediately return egg mixture to the hot mixture in saucepan. Cook over med. heat, stirring constantly, 2 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat and add butter and vanilla. Pour into pie shell. Top with waxed paper. Let cool and top with whipped cream just before serving. Enjoy!

Peanut Butter and Raisin Spirals

1/2 cup natural peanut butter
1/4 cup plain yogurt
1 Tbsp honey
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
4 whole wheat flour tortillas (8″ diameter)
1/4 cup golden raisins
2 Tbsp honey-flavored wheat germ (I didn’t have honey-flavored)

In a small bowl, combine the peanut butter, yogurt, honey, and cinnamon. Spread over the tortillas, coming to within 1/2″ of the edges. Sprinkle with the raisins and wheat germ. Roll up and cut into 2″ pieces.

Fruit and Nut Sandwiches

4 oz reduced-fat cream cheese
1/4 cup chopped pitted dates
1/4 cup chopped dried apricots
2 Tbsp finely chopped walnuts
2 Tbsp milk
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp grated lemon peel
8 slices raisin bread
4 large romaine lettuce leaves

In a small bowl, combine the cream cheese, dates, apricots, walnuts, milk, lemon juice, and lemon peel. Spread over 4 slices of the bread. Top with the lettuce and remaining bread slices.
(The first day I ate this I didn’t have any raisin bread, and I didn’t really like it. Once I bought some raisin bread to spread it on, however, I loved it!)

Leave a Reply

