The Basmati Rice Challenge

My dear, dear friend Rachel (who also just happens to be a wonderful cook–I know how to pick ’em) posted a basmati rice challenge 10 days ago.  You can find the challenge here

The challenge ended today, and in true form, I waited until dinnertime to try out my recipe!  So, here are the ingredients and what I did (and I sort of made a lot, b/c I had a feeling I would love it, so you could probably half this). 

Rice Recipe
2 cups Basmati Rice
4 cups water
1 cup milk
1 Tbsp oil
pinch of salt

Sauce Recipe
4 Tbsp canola oil
2 onions, diced (I used red)
1 chili pepper, minced
2 cans coconut milk (I used light, and my sauce was pretty runny.  Next time I might try one light and one regular.)
2 28oz cans of diced tomatoes, drained
1 Tbsp green curry paste
1 1/2 cups peas
salt and pepper to taste

Rinse rice in cold water to remove excess starch.  Combine rice, water, oil, and salt in a heavy saucepan.  Allow mixture to rest for 15 minutes.  Bring mixture to a boil, stirring occasionally.  Reduce heat to low setting, cover with tight fitting lid and simmer for 35 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Fluff with fork and serve with sauce.

Meanwhile, while rice is simmering, heat oil in large saucepan.  Add onion and pepper and saute for about 5 minutes.  Add coconut milk, tomatoes, green curry paste, peas, salt, and pepper.  Bring to a boil.  Simmer for about 20 minutes.  Pour over rice.   

This is d.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s.
even if I do say so myself.  😉

Leave a Reply

