today…

Today was a good day. 

This morning we visited a new church.  I had very low expectations, actually.  I had a preconceived notion of what this church was going to be like.  And I was wrong.  I left feeling more peaceful than I have felt in months.  It was rather beautiful, actually. 

This afternoon Matt and Madison took the kids to a music store.  I decided I wanted to finally sneak in a much-anticipated visit to Pryde’s Old Westport (which leads me to a quick tangent.  Have I mentioned lately how much I love Kansas City?  My mom always led me to believe that if I ventured into Westport I might get shot, but what happens, instead, is that when I enter a building and sit at a table facing an exposed brick wall…when I bond with a friend over bubble tea at Teadrops…when I enjoy a quiet dinner with Matt eating my favorite version of comfort food–green curry–at The Thai Place…when I peruse my favorite store, World Market…I don’t worry that I’ll get shot–I worry that I just might never meander back home!)  ANYWAY…Pryde’s is closed on Sunday.  I was very, very sad.  However, I wasn’t about to go home, because if I went home I would feel obligated to clean, unload the dishwasher, sweep the floors, etc, etc, etc.  No way.  I needed some time to myself.  So, I did quite well what I normally don’t do well at all–I adapted.  I didn’t have my journal with me, but I remembered seeing journals on sale at World Market.  I walked in, ignored the enticing allure that is World Market, bought a $4 journal, and headed across the street to Panera, where I sat with a cup of coffee and my journal.  Bliss.  Pure bliss.  I felt human again when I strolled back out to my car. 

Tonight, then, Matt and I ventured out on a belated Valentine’s Day date.  We headed down to Westport and ate at The Thai Place.  Incredibly yummy.  I love (I mean, really, really love) green curry.  In fact, there are some leftovers in the fridge now that I just might have to eat.  After dinner we walked down to Harpo’s–Matt enjoyed a Guinnes, I sipped a Boulevard Ale.  It sort of reminded me of grad school days.  I hadn’t been in a bar in…forever.  It was so nice to sit and talk.  I miss Matt.  It was great going out for dinner and drinks with my best friend. 

While we were out on our date, our kiddos were in the capable hands of Patrick and Lindsey.  Amélie just couldn’t bear the thought of leaving, so she is staying all night with Sydney.  Jack is asleep, and we are absolutely IDIOTS, b/c we are working our way through the first season of Heroes.  I am no longer relaxed.  I am sipping a little chianti to counter the anxiety I feel watching this crazy television series which I resolve, every day, never to watch again (and yet I do).  It’s Matt’s fault.  Totally his fault.  He’s the one who get me hooked. 

So today was a good day (with the exception of sitting here watching Heroes).  I needed a good day.  I hope I can hang on to this feeling for awhile.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Ummm…the girls are asleep. A little late…but asleep, nonetheless, AND I kept my promise: they were definitely in bed before 11pm this time!

    And…I love me some HEROES!!!!

    Reply

  2. we just finished the first and second season…totally addicting! so glad you guys are loving where you live!

    Reply

  3. Lindsey, I know how hard it is to get those two to shut down.

    Michele, while we love Kansas City, we miss you and everyone at Wheatland. Wish we could transport you all here.

    Reply

  4. During the first season of Heroes, I kept threatening to quit watching it with Heath because it made me so tense and sometimes disturbed. But it gets less that way as the show progresses. I think as you learn more about the plot it is less unbearably tense and more just exciting. And certainly, addicting. I can’t imagine if we’d had the opportunity to keep watching the next and the next… we probably would have gone to bed too late for weeks!

    I am glad to hear that you had a good day. That can be such a boost, such a reviver.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Todd on February 17, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Anne and I love Westport. We always eat at Blue Koi when we are up there and make sure we stop at Boomerang for some “new” clothes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

