HOPE in Kansas City

I know, I know, this has been the longest blogging hiatus EVER.  Yoo-hoo!  Anyone out there?  I hope so, because I have something exciting to share.

First, though, let me say that I have missed blogging.  I took blogging time off during Lent, and then I just haven’t gotten back in the groove.   Truthfully, I am not in any groove right now.  I haven’t been writing.  I haven’t been reading.  I haven’t been thinking and analyzing and ruminating.  I don’t think I’ve been me.  I miss me.  I need to start nourishing my soul again.  She’s hungry. 

This weekend, I am going to nourish my soul by participating in something very exciting for Matt (who, btw, has a photography website set up here).  He was asked to contribute a photograph to be auctioned off during the upcoming Leukemia and Lymphoma Society fundraiser.  The theme of this year’s fundraiser is “Hope in Kansas City,” and Matt came up with a brilliant idea.  Those of you familiar with Kansas City have probably driven downtown at night and noticed the Marriott lit up with a design or a message.  Matt’s idea was to ask them to design the word HOPE to be displayed on the side of the building, and then he wanted to take a picture of it to be auctioned off.  There was only one little problem.  They never say yes to requests.  If they did, they would probably have proposals and baby announcements lighting up downtown every other night.  Matt was persistent, however.  He called one person.  They said “no,” but you can talk to so-and-so.  He called so-and-so, who said “no,” but you can try talking to this other so-and-so.  He tried calling this other so-and-so, who said “no, but you can try asking….. ”

You get the picture. 

Finally, after a month of voicemails and waiting and lots of “no’s,” he got the right answer: Yes!  So tomorrow night the word HOPE is going to light up the night in downtown Kansas City.  Can you imagine it? 

HOPE

It gives me chills to think about it. 

A middle-aged man who just lost his job will trudge the streets of KC on an evening walk, trying to clear his head and not panic about the future, and he will see it:  HOPE

A young mom will be driving to the hospital, yet again, to spend the night curled up on the couch next to her son’s bed, and through tear-filled eyes she will see it:  HOPE

A runaway teenage girl, strung out on drugs, will stumble upon it:  HOPE

A scraggly homeless man will wander out of his alley to go look for some food, and he will look up and see it:  HOPE

HOPE. 

I need it.  Your neighbor needs it.  Your co-worker needs it.  And so does that annoying kid in your son’s first grade class.  Your mom.  Your dad.  Your son.  Your daughter.  Your partner.  Your best friend.  You.

HOPE.

Come see it for yourself tomorrow night.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Julie on May 8, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    How exciting!

    Reply

  2. Posted by ashley on May 8, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    You gave me chills! Thats awesome! I have missed your blogging too!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by clbeyer on May 8, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    That is the coolest thing ever. I can’t wait to see photos!

    Reply

  4. That’s awesome! I wish the bride for tomorrow’s wedding was named Hope. 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by attraversiamodarmaz on May 8, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    tres magnifique!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Tara on May 9, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Oh I am so excited! That is WONDERFUL!! Wish I could be there to see it.

    HOPE…has been my theme this spring…it is the cure for so much of life!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jan Ericson on May 9, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Jill, you have such a sweet heart. I will pray that God will turn the eyes of each person needing that message towards that KC hallmark tonight. Persistence is a quality Jesus blessed. Go Matt! And Go Jill for celebrating your hubby. I celebrate you! hugs!

    Reply

  8. this is very cool guys! an amazing thing to have taken on for a lot of people.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

