waking up from my blogging slumber

I am sure that I lost my faithful band of readers long ago, but I have been feeling, lately, the tug to blog again.  Then, I got this email: “Hey – what happened to this?”—“this” meaning my blog.

Good question.

So here I am.  Blogging again.  I am deciding to blog again at a very bad time to start anything new.  Life is c.r.a.z.y. 

I am homeschooling Amélie this semester (which is at least three blog entries worth of a story).

I have a precocious two-year-old.  He is a joy.  He is a challenge. 

My grandma is sick, and we have been trekking out her direction more than usual to check in on her.

I have no.free.time.  No time to myself.  No time to breathe my own air. 

And, perhaps, that is why I am blogging again.  Perhaps here, in this space, I will remember to breathe my own air, process my own thoughts, untangle my emotions.

Also, Lent is approaching, and I seem to feel compelled to blog through my Lenten experiences. 

So there you have it.

I recently ordered the e-book Healthy Homemaking: One Step at a Time by Stephanie Langford.  I am the type of person who decides she wants to change her life approximately 101 ways, and I want to make all of those changes NOW, and I want all of those changes to be TOTAL, COMPLETE, and PERMANENTLY INGRAINED in my head and body and habits.  The thing is….I fail at this.  Every time.  You would think I would learn, but I don’t.  Therefore, I decided that a program to follow that included baby steps would be perfect for one like me.  I downloaded the e-book, copied it off, and then my computer rebooted so I can’t find the flippin’ book on my computer.  I am very frustrated.  Matt tried troubleshooting the finding of my lost book over the phone, but that didn’t work, so I am hoping he can find it when he gets home.  I thought I had saved it.  I really did. 

I started the process on Sunday, January 31st, and I am allowing myself two weeks on each baby step.  There are 26 baby steps, so it will take me a year to transform myself into the perfect, and perfectly healthy, homemaker.  Just kidding.  I am sure I won’t be perfect.  Just almost perfect. 

I started with…

Baby Step 1: Reduce Waste

 The objective of this baby step is “to find three practical ways to reduce the amount of waste that your family is producing.”

I felt pretty good about this one, because we are already doing several of the suggestions she listed.  We recycle, we reuse plastic bags, and we compost.  As stated above, I am just supposed to pick three ways to reduce waste, but I always want an A+, so I picked more, of course.  Here are the suggestions I chose to help us reduce waste:

 * Bring cloth shopping bags whenever you grocery shop.  I have the bags, and I always remember to use them at Aldi’s, where I would have to either pay for bags or scrounge for empty boxes if I didn’t bring my own bags, but when I shop in other stores, I invariably forget.  It makes me crazy, and while I should probably trek back out to the car to retrieve the forgotten bags, I never do.  So, I have been trying to remember my bags when I grocery shop.  On Sunday I visited three different stores, and I remembered to bring bags in at two stores.  It’s a start.

 *Examine your recycling habits—Before throwing anything out, examine it carefully to see whether it could possibly be recycled.  We are pretty good about recycling, but sometimes I am lazy.  If I finish a roll of toilet paper, for example, I may very well throw the empty cardboard roll into the trash rather than bring it back to the recycling bins by the back door.  Pure laziness.  I am really, really trying to be more conscientious about recycling absolutely everything I can.  I think, though, that there is one empty toilet paper tube roll in the trash can in the bathroom right now.  As soon as I finish blogging I will dig it out and return it to its proper, environmentally friendly home in the recycle bin.

 *Try to use as little tin foil, paper towels, plastic wrap, etc. as possible.  [Try to use] glass jars with lids and re-usable Tupperware-type containers to store everything in the fridge (or [reused] Ziplocs).  As I write this, I have a plate of brownies covered with foil to deliver to some friends tonight.  I guess I should have put the brownies in a Rubbermaid container instead.  Obviously I am still learning.  I have, however, been trying to use containers rather than Ziploc bags.  For example, I have been compulsively buying bagels from my sister-in-law Becki.  To keep them fresh, I keep two of each flavor in the fridge, in a plastic container, and the rest are in the freezer.  Also, over the weekend we had pizza, and I put the leftovers in the plastic containers rather than Ziploc bags.  Yay me.  I have to admit, though, that I hate washing Ziploc bags.  Hate it.  I never know how to dry them, and, admittedly, I think I am a wee bit lazy about it.

 *Use cloths and rags for cleanup.  I don’t have that many worn out t-shirts or socks or towels right now, but I am trying to use those rather than paper towels as much as I can.  Jack just spilled his drink everywhere, for example, and I used a kitchen towel rather than paper towels.  It’s still a lot easier for me to grab a paper towel, though, so I need to be more conscientious. 

 *Use cloth napkins  to completely remove the excuse to ever need to use the paper ones.  I bought some kids’ cloth napkins on Etsy, which they love using.  That has been fun.  I have some cloth napkins that Rachel made me that I have been using more diligently, and I would like to get some more.  I have enjoyed this step, although I am just remembering that I just served Amélie a brownie on a paper napkin.  I’m still learning, and I also have exactly three more days to perfect myself.  😉

 *Look for used items on Freecycle or Craigslist before considering buying them new.  I actually looked for cloth napkins on Craigslist before buying some new ones, but there weren’t any listed.  I am not a member of Freecycle in Kansas City, so I should join. 

 Stay tuned for Baby Step 2: The Wonders of Vinegar.  Sounds exciting, no?  🙂

Also stay tuned for this year’s Lenten Adventure.  I have yet to decide what to give up.  Here are some ideas:

Sugar
Chocolate
Caffeine
Soda
Coffee
Facebook
Blog-reading
Sleep
Alcohol

 Any other ideas?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly on February 11, 2010 at 9:25 am

    welcome back friend. I am so glad you downloaded that book! Now you tell me if it is something I should download too. I am doing lots of those things, so I wasn’t sure if I needed the whole book.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jenny on February 25, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    I want to read the entries on homeschooling. Since you have so much free time to write them. 🙂

    Glad to see we will be hearing from you again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

